THEFT LAWYER FOR CLIENTS
IN SOUTHERN WEST VIRGINIA

CHARGED WITH LARCENY? CONTACT CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER TODD HOUCK

Theft in West Virginia is referred to as “larceny” and occurs when someone unlawfully takes property that belongs to someone else with the intent to permanently deprive the rightful owner of his or her property. West Virginia laws also cite specific theft-related offenses, including, but not limited to:

– Larceny of banknotes, checks, and writings of value (W.Va. Code § 61.3.14.)
– Receiving or transferring stolen goods (§ 61.3.18.)
– Embezzlement (§ 61.3.20.)
– Obtaining money, property, and services by false pretenses (§ 61.3.24.)

If you have been charged with any of the previous offenses, or a similar type of theft, contact criminal defense lawyer Todd Houck in southern West Virginia. As a former prosecutor, Mr. Houck knows how to provide excellent legal services to ensure your rights and to fight for you both in and out of court.

PETTY THEFT & GRAND LARCENY LAWS IN WEST VIRGINIA

In West Virginia courts, most theft offenses are classified according to the value of what was allegedly stolen. The offense can be considered a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. For instance, petit larceny, or petty theft, is the lowest-level theft crime in West Virginia, other than minor shoplifting crimes. Petty theft is referred to as theft of property or services valued at less than $1,000. Grand larceny, on the other hand, is a felony, and referred to as theft of property or services valued at more than $1,000.

PETIT LARCENY/PETTY THEFT
Misdemeanor; incarceration of up to one year, and/or fine of no more than $2,500

GRAND LARCENY/FELONY THEFT
Felony; state imprisonment from one to 10 years, and a possible fine of up to $2,500. Theft is “grand larceny” in West Virginia if the value of the goods or services stolen is $1,000 or more.

Call us today for a Free Consultation

SHOPLIFTING LAWS & FELONIES IN WEST VIRGINIA

Initial shoplifting convictions may only result in small fines in West Virginia. However, the penalties increase with subsequent shoplifting convictions to the point where even shoplifting can constitute a felony. When the value of the merchandise stolen is $500 or less, shoplifting is a misdemeanor, and is punishable by a fine of no more than $250. When the value of the merchandise stolen exceeds $500, shoplifting is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine from $100 to $500, confinement in jail for up to 60 days, or both. Subsequent offenses are more severe, leading up to felony charges.

CALL THE LAW OFFICES OF TODD HOUCK IN BECKLEY, WV, & MULLENS, WV

Regardless with what type of theft you may have been charged with, your first phone call should be to the law offices of G. Todd Houck in Beckley, WV, and Mullens, WV. Todd Houck and his legal team can provide you with the legal representation you can rely on.

Close Menu